Bravery Awards: Women empowerment rings

Kolkata, 6th May: Announcing the 18th Godfrey Philips Bravery Awards for the states of West Bengal, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka, Harmanjit Singh, General Secretary, said that this year Godfrey Philips Bravery was focusing on women’s empowerment with the launch of the ‘Amodini Award’ for individuals or organisations who have contributed towards that objective.


“Over the years we have consistently added new awards to celebrate different forms of bravery, this year, we are introducing the Amodini Award to highlight something so important as women’s empowerment,” said Singh.

Since it’s inception in 1990, Godfrey Philips Bravery Awards has recognised over a thousand persons across the country for their contributions ad feats.

Former Lok Sabha Speaker, Somnath Chatterjee is expected to present the awards on Thursday night along with noted dancer and actress, Tanushree Shankar at a city five star.

This year’s recipients of the Physical Bravery awards are Late Tanmoy Nag, Parvez Akhtar and Raj Mallick from West Bengal, Besta Pramila from Andhra Pradesh, and Amit Kumar Neura from Andhra Pradesh.

Parvez and Raj will receive the awards for their quick thinking and actions that helped save numerous lives during the Kolkata Stephen Court fire fiasco in March.

The NGO ‘We Belong’ from Karnataka, Dr N V S Kiran Kumar from Andhra Pradesh and Manoj Kumar Das are to receive Bravery Awards for Social Acts of Courage.

16-year-old Babar Ali, a Class XI student will receive the Mind of Steel award for his astonishing feat of being perhaps India’s youngest school principal of Anand Shiksha Niketan in a village called Gangapur in West Bengal.

Ali, with little help from his parents set up a classroom on his ancestral land when he was only 9 years old; today the school has classes from 1 to 8 and a staff strength of 10 inclluding many who are students themselves of classes 9 to 12.

The All Bengal Women’s Union (ABWU) is slated to receive the Amodini Award for helping exploited women get back on their feet for over 75 years.

The winners will be awarded with cash awards and certificates.

Chetak K S, of We Belong, the NGO that won one of the Social Acts of Courage awards said, “The awards provide a great platform for organisations like us to spread our message; without the spread of word ideas would remain stagnant and utterly worthless.’

Harmanjit Singh said, “Sometimes it’s not just enough to encourage the brave, more important is to inspire people to stand tall when their time comes; this award provides that inspiration”.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *